© 2017 Colony Construction.

 

2333 Anderson Highway

Powhatan, VA 23139

Phone: 804.598.1400

 

Proudly created by WKH Solutions.

ABOUT

Family Owned

Colony Construction, Inc. is proud to be a family owned business and will continue to operate with fiscal responsibility and efficiency for our customers and employees to the standards we set when it was formed.

29 Years in Business

Colony Construction, Inc. was founded in Powhatan County in 1989 by Earl and Carol Pryor.  

Growing

We are now over 150 people strong and will continue to grow.


Interested in joining the

Colony Paving team?

HISTORY

Colony Construction, Inc. was formed in 1989 by Earl and Carol Pryor.  Colony started as a grading contractor and moved into the paving business in 1994. Colony Construction continued to grow as VDOT maintenance paving in addition to commercial and residential paving. At the turn of the century, Earl and Carol’s daughter and son-in-law, Cathy and Scott Claud, returned to Powhatan from Atlanta and began running the family business operations.  That same year, our current Vice President, Harry King, Jr. left Golder Associates and returned to Colony Construction as a project manager.

In 2001, Colony Construction procured its first million dollar contract.  We updated our trucks and equipment to keep up with growth. Between 2003 and 2007 the company increased annual revenue by 20% per year.  During this time, our work shifted to larger commercial and municipal projects and was no longer exclusively reliant on residential paving projects.

In 2008, Colony Construction purchased a brand new Astec 300 ton per hour asphalt plant located in Powhatan, VA.  Operations began in March of that year. In our first year in production, during a national recession, we produced 168,000 tons. Throughout the recession, Colony Construction continued to grow and add more employees and equipment. Since the first year of operation, asphalt plant production has grown by a rate of 20% per year.

As an asphalt producer, we are currently working on and have completed several VDOT schedule paving contracts in the Richmond and Lynchburg districts. In March 2012, to keep up with company growth, Colony Construction purchased another brand new Astec asphalt plant at the LuckStone quarry in Burkeville, VA.  Combined asphalt plant production for 2012 will exceed 400,000 tons.

ESTIMATING
Matt Stone
Chief Estimator
matts@colonypaving.com
804-598-1400 x 312
Brian Miffleton
Project Manager Senior Estimator
brianm@colonypaving.com
804-598-1400 x 307
John Lawson
Estimator
johnl@colonypaving.com
804-598-1400 x 308

KEY PERSONNEL

CORPORATE OFFICERS
Scott T. Claud
President
scottc@colonypaving.com
804-598-1400 x 303
Harry A. King, Jr.
Vice President
harryk@colonypaving.com
804-598-1400 x 305
Catherine P. Claud
Secretary-Treasurer
cathy@colonypaving.com
804-598-1400 x 304
MANAGEMENT
Blake Rogers
Director of Operations
blaker@colonypaving.com
804-598-1400 x 317
Mike Bell
Paving Operations Manager
mbell@colonypaving.com
804-400-3278
Adam Lawson
Trucking Operations Manager
alawson@colonypaving.com
804-400-3542
ASPHALT PLANTS
Jim Coffman
Vice President of Plant Operations
jimmyc@colonypaving.com
804-400-3242
Wes Utley
Quality Control Operations Manager
wesu@colonypaving.com
804-641-9794
Cody Swann
Powhatan Plant Operator
cswann@colonypaving.com
804-400-9752
Jason (Turkey) Shumaker
Burkeville Plant Operator
jshumaker@colonypaving.com
804-283-5928
CORPORATE OFFICE
Paul Bereznak
Chief Financial Officer
paulb@colonypaving.com
804-598-1400 x 316